Being uninsured or underinsured in Kansas may lead to a citation and will also leave you lacking many benefits and protections if you are in a motor vehicle collision. The Kansas statute commonly called the “no pay, no play” statute, was enacted in 2011 in a bid to encourage vehicle owners to follow the requirement for minimum car insurance. Pursuant to this statute, uninsured motorists cannot claim damages for pain and suffering (non-economic damages) if they are in a collision, even if the other driver is at fault.
However, nearly 9% of motorists in Kansas continue to drive without insurance. If you are injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver, call DeVaughn James Injury Lawyers now.
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements:
Since Kansas is a no-fault insurance state, motorists are required to have PIP (Personal Injury Protection) and UM/UIM (Uninsured/Underinsured motorist) coverage, in addition to the required liability coverage. The minimum limits for coverage are:
- Liability Insurance: In the event of a collision, liability coverage protects you from both bodily injury and property damage claims initiated by other motorists. The state requires you to have:
- – Coverage of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per incident for the bodily injuries and fatalities of the other drivers involved in the collision.
- – Coverage of $25,000 for third party property damage, including vehicle damage.
- Personal Injury Protection: In Kansas, all motorists mandatorily carry PIP coverage. These no-fault benefits kick in through your own insurance carrier anytime you are involved in a collision. These benefits are available to you, the other occupants of your vehicle and, in some circumstances, individuals hit by your vehicle. This coverage requires the following Kansas minimum car insurance limits:
- – $4,500 for medical expenses of each person.
- – Loss of income or disability coverage of $900/month for a period of one year.
- – $25/day for essential services such as in-home nursing/medical services.
- – $900/month in survivor benefits to cover the period of one year and $25/day for in-home care.
- – $2,000 for funeral and cremation expenses, if death occurs.
- Uninsured or Underinsured Motorist Coverage: These limits are the same as that of your liability bodily injury coverage and are intended for the policyholder’s protection. This covers the bodily injuries that you may suffer as a result of being in a collision caused by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.
Is the Minimum Car Insurance Enough?
While you won’t be fined for carrying minimum coverage, you can add significant protection for yourself and your family members by taking another look at your auto policy limits. Medical bills stack up quickly following a serious collision. If the medical bills reach beyond $2,000, or the injuries involve disfigurement, a permanent disability, or the fracture of a weight-bearing bone, the injured party has the right to seek compensation for pain and suffering from the other motorist.
When you purchase coverage that is above the minimum requirements, you are actually purchasing additional protection for yourself, whether it is PIP benefits or UM/UIM benefits.
Kansas No-fault Insurance Law Offers Immediate Help in Case of Personal Injury.
Since Kansas is a no-fault insurance state, the law ensures that all injured parties receive PIP benefits, regardless of who was at fault and to what extent. Other benefits that you may purchase through your own policy could also come into the picture after your PIP benefits are exhausted. Access to PIP benefits means you can seek initial medical treatment without worrying about the ability to present co-pays or health insurance, and without delaying the medical care you need.
Be Prepared to Show Valid Proof of Insurance.
In Kansas, you are required to have car insurance and will also have to show proof of coverage when asked to do so by a law enforcement officer. The penalties for driving without insurance can include:
- – First-time violators being fined $300-$1,000.
- – For subsequent violations, motorists may be fined $800-$2,500.
- – Continuing violations can lead to a prison term of 6 months.
- – Suspension of vehicle registration with a $100 fee for reinstatement.
All vehicles registered in the state of Kansas have to be insured, even those that are inoperable and those that you choose not to operate. If you don’t want to pay to insure a car that is never used or cannot be used, get in touch with the Kansas Department of Revenue and have its on-road status changed to avoid fines.
Auto claims and litigation are complex processes. You will put yourself at a serious disadvantage if you face corporate attorneys without an experienced attorney arguing on your side. Contact DeVaughn James Injury Lawyers today and we will help you understand your case and your options. Our team of lawyers will negotiate and fight on your behalf to ensure that you get equitable compensation.