How to Prove that you were a Victim of a Kansas hit-and-run Accident!

/ / Car Accidents, Kansas Auto Insurance
Hit and Run Car Accident

Being involved in a hit-and-run car wreck is frightening and frustrating as you are left to handle the aftermath of the collision along with the added challenge of proving what happened with no way to identify the other driver. There is the added stress of seeking compensation when the at-fault party cannot be traced. Continue reading to know how to prove that you are a victim of a hit-and-run car wreck in Kansas and who pays compensation for the losses suffered in such a collision.

You need to act immediately after the accident

  1. Gather evidence: If you are not hurt too badly and are physically capable of collecting evidence, start by taking pictures of the scene of the accident, your vehicle damage, road conditions, debris on the surface, road layout, weather conditions, and any visible injuries.
  2. Look for witnesses: If people have witnessed the car wreck, get their contact information and if possible, capture videos of them narrating what they witnessed.
  3. Contact the police: Even if you are not hurt at all, you will need to contact the police, so call 911 and wait for law enforcement officers to arrive on the scene.
  4. Describe the accident as accurately as you can: The responding officers will use your account of the crash to file their report. Try your best to provide all the details you can remember, including the time, location, and direction in which the other vehicle fled.
  5. Seek medical attention: No matter how insignificant you think your injuries are, seek medical attention. If you are incapable of proceeding to the nearest emergency room, wait for police and paramedic assistance.
  6. Get in touch with your insurance company: Report the incident to your insurance provider as soon as possible.  They may have specific protocols for hit-and-run claims.

How do you build your case if you are a victim of a hit-and-run accident in Kansas?

  1. The police report: This is a crucial piece of evidence, as it will have your account of the accident along with witness testimony.
  2. Security cam footage: Video clips from traffic and security cameras in the area will not only help to prove that a car wreck did occur but offer clues on the hit-and-run motorist and his behavior during and after the collision as well as the direction in which the vehicle went after the crash.
  3. Your dashcam: If you have a dashcam in your vehicle, chances are that it may have captured vital tracking information such as the number plates of the at-fault motorists or at least the make, model, and color of his/her vehicle.
  4. Vehicle debris: Paint transfer or broken parts from the other vehicle on your car can be collected as evidence to potentially identify the make and model of the car that hit you.
  5. Medical Records: As far as your injuries are concerned, medical bills and treatment records will be needed to prove and link them to the accident.

But who pays for the losses suffered by the victim of a Kansas hit-and-run accident?

  • Your PIP coverage: In Kansas, you are required to have PIP coverage. This is bundled with your auto insurance and it will cover you for medical expenses up to $4500, loss of income of $900/month, rehabilitation costs of $4500, funeral expenses of $2,000, and in-home services costs of $25/day. This is no-fault protection, so you will get PIP coverage even if you are the at-fault motorist.  That said, you will have to approach your insurance provider to file your PIP claim.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: You are also required to have minimum uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. If your medical bills exceed your PIP coverage, this part of your auto insurance policy can be used to handle treatment costs in the event of a hit-and-run car wreck.
  • Additional Considerations: If the accident is attributed to other third parties apart from the hit-and-run driver, you can also seek compensation from their insurance companies.

It’s important to remember that filing a personal injury claim is often a complex process. The initial step is to prove liability. Then, a dollar value has to be assigned to the impact of your injuries on your personal and professional life, and your actual treatment cost is just one variable of this equation.

You will need an experienced attorney who knows how to understand the longstanding costs of personal injuries and how to get insurance companies to pay for these costs. Get in touch with DeVaughn James Injury Lawyers today! Our attorneys will ensure that you receive fair compensation from your insurance company and any other coverage providers responsible for the accident.