For a victim of any accident, feelings of confusion and disorientation are fairly common. For victims of a hit and run car accident, you can safely assume there is anger in that mix of emotions. It’s a jarring experience, mentally and physically.
If you have, unfortunately, been a victim of someone else’s carelessness and still reeling from your ordeal and unsure of how to proceed further, here are a few things that you should know:
The approval of the House Bill 2044 by the Legislature of the State of Kansas in 2011, toughens the penalties in a hit and run case. This Bill now states that:
- Leaving the scene of the accident is a felony with presumptive jail time
- Penalty for injury is a Class A Person misdemeanor
- Penalty for great bodily harm is Severity Level 8, Person Felony
- Penalty for Death is Severity Level 6, Person Felony
- Penalty for property damage of less than $1000 is a Misdemeanor charge however a penalty for property damage of more than $1000 is a Class A Person Misdemeanor.
There are a number of reasons why a driver will flee from the accident site. The driver may be under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance, is wanted on other criminal charges, operating a vehicle with a suspended or revoked license, is a negligent driver or does not have the insurance to cover damages.
While admittedly a stressful situation, the more calm and controlled you are, the more information you can gather. The more information you have, the easier it is to catch the violator. The top 5 things to do when you are a victim of a hit and run are:
- Call for Help – if you need medical attention or otherwise, the first thing to do is call the police and file an accident report.
- Mark Identification – Try and identify the make and model of the car. Write down any description of the individual behind the wheel, any numbers spotted off the license plate. If a hit and run occurred when you were away from your vehicle, note the date, time and location along with damages incurred. Take photographs if possible.
- Identify Witnesses – If there were any people around who witnessed the scene, ask for name and contact information. They are helpful for the insurance claim and police report.
- Call Your Insurance Company – Depending on your coverage, your insurer will usually compensate you for your loss. Uninsured motorist coverage often covers hit and run cases in the state of Kansas. These will pay for any medical expenses as well as car repairs.
- Call An Attorney – If the police find the person who made you the victim in the first place, then to help press charges and recover all your costs, an attorney and court system can help.
If you’ve been injured in a hit and run accident, contact the personal injury attorneys at DeVaughn James Injury Lawyers in Wichita, Kansas. Call 316-977-9999 in Wichita, Kansas or 1-800-834-8400 for a free case evaluation with no obligation.