What Is UM/UIM Coverage?
Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM) motorist coverage is a feature of your own auto insurance policy that offers additional protection when there is an accident, and the at-fault driver is either completely uninsured or has insurance that meets the minimum legal requirements, but does not have enough coverage to pay for the damage caused by the accident.
Drivers Are Required To Carry UM/UIM In Kansas
In Kansas, drivers are required to carry Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage with minimum limits of $25,000.00 per person and $50,000.00 per accident. This required coverage protects you against those drivers without insurance or those with insufficient coverage.
According to a study by the Insurance Research Council the rate of uninsured drivers in Kansas is 10% to 13%. To compound matters further some statistics indicate that as many as 6 in 10 drivers carry inadequate coverage or, worse yet, no insurance at all. UM/UIM insurance coverage can provide you with peace of mind, as you don’t have to worry that another driver without coverage will crash into you, destroy your property and leave you with significant medical bills.
Lack Of Coverage Can Have Several Consequences
Uninsured drivers in Kansas face much more than financial consequences. It is against the law to operate motor vehicles without proper coverage. If caught, the first offense is a Class B misdemeanor. First time offenders could face up to a $1,000 fine and/or 6 months in jail. Repeat offenders will see even tougher penalties.
How Does UM Coverage Work?
Let’s say for example you are involved an automobile accident that was another driver’s fault. You sustained serious injuries. The person that hit you did not have auto insurance and doesn’t have money or other assets to pay for the damages. At this point, you can turn to your Uninsured motorist coverage on your own automobile policy to ensure that you are compensated for your losses.
How Does UIM Coverage Work?
In this example, let’s say you were injured in an automobile accident by another driver who only carries the minimum legal coverage and your damages exceed this limit. In this situation, the at-fault driver’s insurance company will pay up to its policy limits in coverage. Your insurance company will then step in and pay the difference between what the at-fault driver’s insurance company already paid and your damages, up to your policy limits.
Contact Our Experienced Attorneys
If you are involved in an accident that results in injury by an Uninsured/Underinsured driver, contact Devaughn James Injury Lawyers for a free, no obligation case evaluation today!